Skip to content

Trying to be a yogi

January 14, 2010

For the past 8 years or so I have been pretty committed to running, cardio in general and a little strength training here and there.  I truly enjoy working out and love what it does for me both mentally and physically.

Before all of that, I danced.  I loved to dance with all of my heart and poured myself into 4 hours of classes a week and 5 or so hours of dance team practices a week during the school year.  Like lots of ladies I know, I stopped dancing when I went to college.  Why I stopped and why I haven’t taken it up again…gosh, I don’t really know.  Those are thoughts for another post. 

One of the things I loved about dancing was the focus and challenge it required.  When I was in a ballet class, I was using every ounce of brain power to make sure my feet, ankles, legs, hips, torso, neck, head, arms, fingers were all in the right place.  There were always new things to try and master – turns, leaps, or just improving my technique in something I could already do. 

For me, dance is the mental opposite of running.  On a run, I don’t have to put too much thought into putting one foot in front of the other, so my mind can wander and wander.  I can work through problems, plan my day, brainstorm or just plain old daydream.  I love running because of this, but lately my mind has been needing more engagement.

I recently started taking an awesome yoga class (hot power yoga- vinyasa style).  I enjoyed the first class and left with a satisfied feeling I hadn’t had in a while.  The next class I took, it clicked – yoga takes the brain focus and concentration that dance does.  My mind feels at home when I practice yoga.  And the challenges – oh, the challenges!  There are so many things ahead of me to master!  Last night I did crow for the first time and a headstand – leaning on the wall, but I got up there on my own.  And, oh, it was lovely!  I can’t wait to go back and see what my body and my mind can do.

Namaste.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 2:14 am

    this post makes me so happy! I’m trying yoga for the first time next week and i CANNOT WAIT!!!!

    *new to your blog and looking forward to reading more!

  2. January 14, 2010 4:21 am

    i for real need to do more yoga!! i love running and yoga is so good for stretching!

Leave a Reply

