Skip to content

Sweets Day

February 14, 2010

Valentine’s Day has never really been my thing, which is weird because I LOVE pink, chocolate, going on dates, my husband, pink, and chocolate.  It’s the forced part of V-day that really gets me – the girls demanding flowers, gifts, elaborate dates, etc.  Anyway, a few years ago my husband reminded me that Valentine’s Day is just another excuse to do something fun together…not that we need an excuse, but I’ll take it 😉

So far today has been a pretty ideal Valentine’s Day for me.  We started the morning with coffee and cinnamon scones (from Immaculate Baking Co. – I love their products).  Then we headed to mass at the church where we got married 2 years ago.  After service got out at noon, we went to Omaha’s Old Market area and walked around in the snow before lunch/all-day happy hour at one of our favorite sushi restaurants.  Two martinis each and four rolls later and we headed home where I crashed on the couch in my sweats to watch Sex and the City Movie.  I love the characters and the ultimate story in this movie, but gosh, it’s sad!  If I let myself, I could cry about five different times.

I think I could get used to this Valentine’s Day thing…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

