Skip to content

Small Victories

March 10, 2010

The last few days I have had some small victories I’m excited about:

  1. On Saturday I ran 5 miles!  This is the farthest I have run since taking a break from running to let a strain in my hamstring heal last fall.  It felt awesome!  I did the run on the treadmill since the weather was iffy and I think we still need a little more melting action on the sidewalks/trails. 
  2. On Sunday in yoga I finally jumped from crow to plank!  I got the hang of crow about a month ago ( it’s still really the only arm balance I have mastered), but I just couldn’t seem to get my legs off my arms and into plank.  I was at a class with a teacher I have never had before and some of her cues helped me out.   The key for me is taking my gaze forward, which shifts the weight forward a bit and then it’s all core to get the legs back.  I felt so STRONG.image
  3. I did ALMOST all the items on the to-do list in my planner last week.  The only one left is “find a new job” which is really more than just a one-week task 😉

 

Other activities last weekend included seeing the Oscar-nominated animated short films at Filmstreams, dinner at a new pizzeria with Zach, and having my sister and her family over for dinner – what a great weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 5:29 am

    Small victories, come on now, let’s be serious… you rock! I don’t think there is anything wrong with feeling super proud of ourselves when we do something for the first time or just simply follow through. I know it always motivates me to keep going and striving for better 🙂 have a great weekend!

    • March 13, 2010 8:07 pm

      Thanks, Danielle! You’re right, achieving something is motivation to do more!

  2. March 31, 2010 2:19 pm

    Congrats on crow to plank – I would be super excited! In my Sunday yoga class, we started out with crow, and then the teacher wanted us to jump directly from downward dog to crow. It was all about baby steps, which is awesome. I’m still mastering crow — the arm strength/trust still isn’t quite there. But it’s something to look forward too!

Leave a Reply

