Skip to content

Shopping for One

March 14, 2010

I consider myself a generally social person.  I like to spend time with my husband, my friends, my family, I like to work with others, and I get energy from talking with others.  But sometimes, I just need some time to myself.

Early in our dating days, I explained this to Zach and made sure he knew when I wanted to spend time by myself, it wasn’t something he should be offended by.  It’s not that I don’t want to spend time with him, it’s just that for my sanity, I need to spend some time with no one.  Sometimes that time can be my workout, or reading a book, or cooking, but one of my favorite things to do is spend some quality time shopping by myself.  I can aimlessly wander or go on a mission for the best pair of black pants in Omaha.  I don’t have to explain what store I want to go to next – or go back to for the third time – or why I’m staring at the same display of candles at Bath & Body Works even though I know I won’t end up buying one.

So yesterday afternoon, I took off for a couple hours of shopping by myself.  I only went to one mall and didn’t really do anything weird, but something about it is just really relaxing to me.  I wandered around The Limited, tried on a bunch of stuff, stared at the jewelry, and got some great deals.  At one point I ended up in Dillard’s where they were having a shoe clearance and I tried on almost every pair on the clearance rack in my size (and then got 2 cute pairs for $40 total!). After I hit a few stores, I knew I was done purchasing, but I just wasn’t quite done shopping ( I think this is a distinction that only women will get).  I got a tall Passion Fruit Iced Tea from Starbucks and then continued on what can only be called aimless wandering.  Eventually those shoes in my bag got a little heavy and I decided to call it good.

So I headed home, relaxed and refreshed with some new clothes and shoes to show for it and ready to spend an evening with my favorite person!

Do you like to spend time by yourself or do you prefer to always be with others?  What about shopping – alone or with a friend?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

